Articles by Roubalita / Live From London Olympics

London Day 1 #TakePart2012


Mood: Excited

I arrived last night, right after midnight as a misfortune I had, delayed me for about an hour… I left (don’t ask how that happened) my backpack (with my laptop in it) at the Heathrow Express Station.  Fortunately, the guys there were so helpful they managed to get it back to me 45 minutes later.

Everywhere in Heathrow airport you are reminded that the city of London is ready to give visitors and spectators around the world an Olympic experience to remember!

I got off the underground at Westminster station and the first thing I saw was one of the most famous symbols of British Culture, the Big Ben.  Sparkling in the night and ready for the Olympics.  Walking to my hotel I couldn’t help noticing the London Eye and yes, it is much bigger than I could have ever imagined.  I hope I get a chance to get a ride on it soon.

Olympic spirit everywhere around here as well, and Samsung making it clear that it is indeed one of the main sponsors (worldwide partners) of the London 2012 Olympic Games.

I have a feeling this is going to be a trip to remember.

 

That’s it for tonight.  Stay tuned for Day 2 or actually Day 1….I’m a bit confused about it:/

 

Special Tip  for any of you travelling to London: On your arrival to the airport do NOT take the Express Train, it will cost you 19 pounds!  Instead follow signs to the Underground.  When you are there, head for the Oyster Card counters and get yourself an Oyster Card.  You need to deposit 5 pounds in it (which you can get back when you leave London) and top it up with around 10 pounds.  You will be asked to fill in a form to register your Oyster Card so that you get a refund in case you miss it.  Do as you please.

Now, the 10 pounds you have topped your Oyster card with, are actually tickets to go around the means of transportation during your stay in London and it does save you a lot of money.  Imagine that a one way trip with cash is 5.90 whereas with an Oyster card it is only 2.90 pounds – it will also automatically cap your daily spend and convert it into a day travel card, so cost effective. Over the course of time you will save lots of money plus you will be given the chance to get a taste of NFC technology😉

PS Special thanks to my friend Dom who provided me with this info before my arrival in London🙂

 

Leave a Reply

